Day 3 Three songs

‘Strong Enough’ by Cher was a song which featured in my life at a time when I needed it most. I guess it is no surprise listening to the lyrics that a man was involved and it did not end well.

Now I’m strong enough to live without you
Strong enough and I quit crying
Long enough now I’m strong enough
To know you gotta go

Come hell or waters high
You’ll never see me cry
This is our last goodbye, it’s true

This resonated because of the angry voice that came across, and also the dignity and the spirit to get up and move on. Over the years, hearing this song would remind me of my strength in those moments, how I had overcome great sorrow and emerged a better person. It is a song of triumph.

The second song is probably a call of the season of my life. With the wisdom I have gained come pain and loss. And the knowledge that life need not be an uphill battle, perhaps the path of least resistance is preferred to constant striving, perhaps love is everywhere and not residing in a selected few.

Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

The final song that came to mind is ‘I hope you dance’ which speaks to the whimsical side of me who extols the innocence of the young still awed by the mystery of life, the joy and freedom of dance, and hope for the future.

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

So it is that these 3 songs are cherished for symbolising my journey of personal growth.

2 thoughts on “Day 3 Three songs

Leave a Reply

