Day 5 The letter

It must have fallen out of the bag…thank goodness I came across it and not another. How would I explain it? I knew I should have packed and carried it on my own. Seeing his handwriting, faded and familiar … still hurt, and yet I have kept every one of them. The memories of our time, the yearning as if it was just yesterday, longing for his words to reach me. Still remember the dread of impending goodbye, for even then I knew it would not last. Hovering between pleasure and trepidation, I grasped those fragile days with gratitude and hope.

This particular letter – oh I think the gods are having a joke on me. How cruel that it had to be this one. Not at my age do I need to be reminded of my losses, this one especially. The creases on it, when I had crunched it up in anger, in sorrow then smoothing it open knowing this would be the last and oh, how precious it was, and is!

I need to gather myself before facing them, put on the brave face – the one that has seen me through the past 45 years in this family. Oh don’t get wrong, I love them all but at times, I could have done without, for they are also the cage that have bound me here, the reason for my greatest loss, my greatest sacrifice. Oh I didn’t realise how much it can still hurt.

But the show must go on…

10 thoughts on “Day 5 The letter

  1. You have left me wondering about a lot of things………………. There was a lot of emotion projected through the pacing and the simplicity of the language. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. You’ve one an EXCELLENT job of teasing the reader. What was in that letter? Who is “he?”
    I get the impression that it was an ex-husband. Does it matter? In the overall scheme of things, I guess not, but I’ve always liked to dig a little bit deeper for the underlying context.
    Grammar and spelling are pretty good. There are a couple punctuation issues and one or two places where capitalization is off, but those are minor enough not to detract from the story itself. Pacing, flow are good and you’ve done a great job of conveying the speaker’s anxiety when it comes to the letter itself.
    I’d say that you’ve done an excellent job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

