Martial arts and fear

Postaday – Back of the Queue

Martial arts – that’s what I have always wanted to do, or specifically, Ju-Jitsu.  Why? Probably the association with self-protection, strength and for a young girl to be that – I got such a mental kick out of it.  The feminist ‘me’ also reveled in the fantasy.

So I went to class (in my early teens) only to discover that my romantic idea of being a martial  arts practitioner hurts literally, and it required lots of hard work.  I crawled out of my second session and never went back.

What’s keeping me away?  Fear of pain… I know it’s probably not as bad as my memory suggests, and I am an adult that could handle it better.  But… what if I don’t and I turn out looking like a fool? A total unfit older woman … looking like a fool.

Perhaps I should try tai-chi instead, it’s a form of martial arts but without the physical contact? Or Qigong…   That’s why I’m practising Yoga – does this sound oh so serious, ‘practising yoga’?  I go through a series of poses using the proper breathing – that’s it.  Candidly speaking, I do not enjoy aerobic exercises, and yoga is probably the most I’ll ever get to in terms of “huffing and puffing” my way through life. Fear of pain – same deal!  And no amount of motivation (the fact that I could look like a super model, maybe) is likely to get me past it… but never say never.

And even if I should have a bucket list, this is so not getting on it because there is a high probability it will be unfulfilled. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Martial arts and fear

  1. I am something of a martial artist myself and have always fantasized about “ninja awesomeness,” which is probably my main drive for pursuing martial arts. But I have also been afraid of pain (though I never like to admit it!). I take classes in American Kenpo, which is a form of self-defense, and I absolutely love it, even when it hurts. Maybe you could try to think about how much MORE pain you would be in if you got attacked on the street and had no martial arts training. Just remember that the pain you have to go through in training will make you all the more stronger and more prepared if a real-life situation comes up. And perhaps if you watched more ninja movies, that would help as well. 😉

    Like

  2. Being a fellow martial artist, I can definitely say that although it may take a hard path, the rewards are worth it 🙂
    We need more women in the arts too!

    Tai chi is fantastic, it may look like it’s simple and easy (stereotypical image of elderly people practising in parks!) but it’s actually very powerful. The interal arts utilise qi through their motions, as do many of the external arts, which really takes it to a whole new level.

    The beginning is always scary, but after the first few classes, you begin to feel more comfortable!! Never say never 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

