Talking dirty (A) Acting

Okay, I’ve got to be honest, this isn’t what you think it is. In fact it wasn’t what I thought it to be either.

The first paragraph to the ‘Introduction’ of ‘Talking Dirty’ by Carole McKenzie says:

“The interpretation of sex and sexual pursuits seen as harmless to some is sure to be condemned as an outrage to others. Sex is promoted everywhere.  No longer hidden and forbidden, it is now direct and often leaves nothing to the imagination.”

So I ordered ‘Talking Dirty’ expecting a sociological study of the evolution of ‘talking dirty’.  Truly!  Instead I get a collection of quotes, sayings etc.. Goes to show how much attention I paid to the blurb before I hit the ‘Buy’ button…but that’s another story.  Basically I’ll read anything.

Anyway… I am having an entertaining time with this book, so I figured… hey, why not share?

I will present to you quotes from this book, based on topics organized in alphabetical order.

So here’s the first ‘take-out’ from the book – talking dirty in Acting:

livelovelaugh

“Acting is not very hard.  The most important things are being able to laugh and cry.  If I have to cry, I think about my sex life.  And if I have to laugh – well, I think of my sex life.”          

Glenda Jackson, British Labour Party political and former actress.

Now that was not so bad, was it  🙂 ?

Till next time,
– FlorenceT
 
 

5 thoughts on “Talking dirty (A) Acting

Leave a Reply

